Batesville Lady Pioneers win state championship


The Batesville Lady Pioneers are the 4A State Champions as they defeated the Berryville Lady Bobcats by a final of 72 to 66 at the Bank of the Ozarks arena in Hot Springs on Thursday.

Sophomore Isabella Higginbottom was the high scorer with 26 points. She was also named the MVP of the game. Senior Taylor Griffin scored 24 points and had seven steals while senior Erin Haigwood had 14 points with four assists and four steals.

The Lady Pioneers improve their record to 30-3 on the season and win their sixth state title in program history. Head coach Stan Fowler not only won his 500th career game this season but also won his first state title with the win on Thursday.

Article by Big Daddy Randy Alan / Images submitted

Fowler and Higginbottom 2.jpgIzzy Higginbottom with Coach Stan Fowler for MVP.

Lady Pioneers 2

Leave a Reply