Mortar Board initiates 30 new members at Lyon


Lyon College’s Order of the Tartan Mortar Board chapter inducted 30 rising seniors last week.

Mortar Board is an honor society that recognizes seniors for achievement in scholarship, leadership, and service. Faculty and staff nominate students for membership. Lyon’s chapter focuses on service, holding several service projects every school year.

When asked what she hoped to accomplish in the chapter, economics and business administration double-major Iva Popovic said, “I hope to become an even more active member of the campus community and to help promote leadership skills and values to the other members of the Lyon College community.”

From Novi Sad, Serbia, Popovic shared she also hopes to provide a different perspective as an international student.

Biology major Vinston Van said he hopes to further develop his leadership skills.

In-state inductees include: Daniel Armstrong of Cabot, Melanie Beehler of Pea Ridge, Jordan Dabdub of Fort Smith, Kayla DeMay of Fayetteville, Linda Fowler of Sherwood, Emma Gillaspy of Conway, Navy Griffin of Sherwood, Felicia Horn of Bald Knob, Raleigh Jeffery of Batesville, Christen Johnson of El Paso, Kendra Kelley of Batesville, Lauren Kuykendall of Batesville, David Lewis of Mountain Home, Olivia Lynch of Alpena, Allison Mundy of Bryant, Destiny Nunez of Beebe, Sean O’Leary of Fayetteville, Gracen Ratliff of Batesville, Haley Reed of Batesville, Luke Shackelford of Smithville, Emerson Smith of Little Rock, Kristen Towery of Bay, Vinston Van of Batesville, Zachary Ward of Russellville, and Samuel Wirges of North Little Rock.

Out-of-state inductees include: Madison Grant of West Plains, Mo.; Ayden Henry of Thayer, Mo.; John Pruden of Allen, Tex.; Tionne Stubblefield of McKinney, Tex.; and Savannah Stull of Springfield, Mo. Iva Popovic of Novi Sad, Serbia is an international inductee.

Lyon Mortar Board.JPG

Leave a Reply