Rotary Club of Batesville holds 2019 Community Awards


The Rotary Club of Batesville held its 2019 Community Awards at the civic club’s officer induction and annual awards night, Monday, June 24, at Colton’s Steak House on St. Louis St. in Batesville.

Honorees included:


Independence County Sheriff Shawn Stephens (right, with the Rotary Club of Batesville’s Donna Cole) was honored with the “Role Model of the Year” award.

Jana Mead Rotary.jpg

Jana Mead (right, with Cole), a science teacher at Southside Middle School, received the “Educator of the Year” award.

Dale Cole Rotary Award.jpg

Dale Cole (right, with Batesville Rotary’s Donna Cole), chairman, president and CEO of First Community Bancshares, Inc. and the chairman and CEO of First Community Bank, was honored with the “Outstanding Community Service” award.


Dr. Chris Steel (right, with Cole) was honored with the “Doctor/Nurse/Care Worker of the Year” award.


Ron Carter (left) from First Community Bank and Johnny Kent (right) from Kent’s Firestone (with Cole, center) were also presented “Service Above Self” awards for their service at last night’s Rotary Club of Batesville’s 2019 Community Awards.

 Allison Fredricks, Batesville High School, and Brandle Davidson, Midland High School.jpg

Allison Fredricks (left), from Batesville High School, and Brandle Davidson (right), from Midland High School, were also honored with scholarships at the event.

Cassandra Skelton Dennis Moore.jpg

Cassandra Skelton from Centennial Bank (left, with Cole, center, and outgoing president of the Rotary Club of Batesville Dennis Moore, right) was presented with the “Rotarian of the Year” award.

Also honored was Crystal Johnson, president and CEO of the Batesville Area Chamber of Commerce, with the “Making a Difference” service award.

Leave a Reply