Local healthcare leaders recognized

Featured image (pictured, left to right): Toi McMullin, director of volunteer and service programs; Kevin Spears, VP and chief operating officer at Stone County Medical Center (SCMC); and Teresa Linden, SCMC Auxiliary president, stand together for a photo after Spears was presented with the AHA Auxiliary Association Administrator of the Year Award.

A White River Health System (WRHS) physician, administrator, and department were recognized during the recent Arkansas Hospital Association (AHA) Annual Meeting in Little Rock.

Carpenter AHA

According to a release from WRHS, WRHS orthopaedic surgeon, Dylan Carpenter, MD (pictured above), received the AHA’s Distinguished Service Award. The award recognizes individuals who have promoted a cause within the healthcare industry. Dr. Carpenter was the first surgeon in Arkansas to offer the minimally invasive anterior hip replacement. This approach causes less damage to major muscles, which results in less pain after surgery, faster recovery, and quicker return to normal activity, the release noted.

Kevin Spears, vice president and chief operating officer (COO) at Stone County Medical Center (SCMC), was presented with the AHA Auxiliary Association Administrator of the Year Award. The award, presented annually by the American Hospital Association Auxiliary Association to two recipients in the state, recognizes a leader who, most effectively, shows his/her support in helping their auxiliary achieve their goals. In March of this year, the auxiliary was eager to donate 17K for the purchase of sleep chairs to SCMC, helping to create a better experience for patients and visitors. Kevin has been instrumental in the SCMC Auxiliary’s success in completing projects such as this, according to the release.

The WRHS Marketing Department received the Diamond Award in the category of Advertising-Total Campaign Category (100 to 249 Beds) for the orthopaedic Mako Robotic-Arm Assisted Surgery campaign and the Writing Category (100 to 249 Beds) for the article, “Village Helps Greyhound Back on His Feet.” Diamond Awards are presented each year to hospitals for excellence in marketing. The WRHS Marketing team includes Jody Smotherman, VP of community engagement; Michele Wood, director of marketing; Jerrika Davis, marketing specialist; Damian DeLoach, graphic designer; Caroline Fowlkes, physician liaison; Brad Lamb, physician liaison; Sheila Mace, public relations coordinator; Annie Solis, marketing supervisor; and Bailey Williams, marketing specialist.

Marketing AHA.jpg(Pictured, left to right): Brooke Pryor, president of the Arkansas Society for Healthcare Marketing and Public Relations (ASHMPR); Annie Solis, White River Health System (WRHS) marketing supervisor; Michele Wood, WRHS marketing director; Jerrika Davis, WRHS marketing specialist; and Bo Ryall, Arkansas Hospital Association (AHA) president and CEO, stand for a photo after WRHS Marketing received Diamond Awards in the categories Total Campaign and Writing.



Leave a Reply