Batesville student awarded Roadway Worker Memorial Scholarship


FREDERICKSBURG, Va. – The American Traffic Safety Services (ATSS) Foundation awarded 14 Roadway Worker Memorial Scholarships and three Chuck Bailey Memorial Scholarships to college and university students around the country for the 2020-21 academic year, according to a release from the foundation on Wednesday.

University of Arkansas student Cody Garner of Batesville was one of the 14 awarded the Roadway Worker Memorial Scholarship, and Garner was also one of the three awarded the Chuck Bailey Memorial Scholarship.

The Roadway Worker Memorial Scholarship Program provides financial assistance for post-high school education to dependents of roadway workers killed or permanently disabled in roadway work zones. The program is competitive and provides scholarships with values up to $10,000 per student each year. Applicants who demonstrate a strong commitment to volunteerism may be eligible for an additional $1,000 in honor of Chuck Bailey, a member of the roadway safety industry who died in 2002.

The ATSS Foundation awarded scholarships totaling $58,000, including the three Chuck Bailey Memorial Scholarships.

The foundation’s board interviewed and thoroughly vetted scholarship applicants to ensure it is responsibly stewarding the resources entrusted to it, said ATSS Foundation President David Krahulec.

“During this process, we have an opportunity to get to know each applicant and hear his or her story. This can be a very heartbreaking experience as these young people have all experienced a tragedy, but it’s also very rewarding to help them realize their goal of a post-secondary education,” Krahulec said. “Of course, none of this would be possible without the generosity of individuals, companies, and organizations that support the work of the foundation.”

The ATSS Foundation has awarded 88 Roadway Worker Memorial Scholarships since 2002 and 21 Chuck Bailey Memorial Scholarships since 2004 for a total value of $313,000, according to Lori Diaz, associate director of the foundation.

“The foundation would not be able to offer life-changing services for families affected by work zone tragedy, like the Roadway Worker Memorial Scholarship program, without the generosity of donors,” Diaz said.

The ATSS Foundation is the charitable arm of ATSSA. It was formed in 1988 with the core purpose to promote roadway safety through charitable giving and public awareness programs.

Donations can be made at

White River Now News Team

Get up-to-date local and regional news along with the latest sports and weather every weekday morning by listening to Gary B. on Ozark Newsline, broadcast from the First Community Bank Newsroom on Arkansas 103.3. White River Now updates are also aired weekday mornings on 93 KZLEOutlaw 106.5, and 99.5 Hits Now. Have a news tip or event to promote? Email White River Now at Be sure to like and follow us on Facebook and Twitter. Add don’t forget to download the White River Now mobile app from the Google Play Store or the Apple App Store.

For more local news and info from White River Now, head to our home page.

White River Now mobile app.

Leave a Reply