Southside City Council approves compensation for mayor, others


The Southside City Council met Monday night and voted to begin compensation for Mayor Ray Bowman, Treasurer Byron Sutherland, and Recorder John Casey.

This is the first time the persons filling these positions will receive compensation since the formation of the city and the council. The mayor will receive $15,000 annually while the treasurer and recorder will receive $2,500 each on an annual basis.

The council’s decision to begin compensation on June 1, 2021, was unanimous.

Also at the meeting, the council voted to join the Arkansas Municipal League.

Get up-to-date local and regional news along with the latest sports and weather every weekday morning by listening to Gary B. on Ozark Newsline, broadcast from the First Community Bank Newsroom on Arkansas 103.3. White River Now updates are also aired weekday mornings on 93 KZLEOutlaw 106.5, and Your FM 99.5. Have a news tip or event to promote? Email White River Now at Be sure to like and follow us on Facebook and Twitter. Add don’t forget to download the White River Now mobile app from the Google Play Store or the Apple App Store.

Leave a Reply